Crowdsourced innovation
with Start.box

In 2017 Eiffage launched Start.box, inviting all Group employees to share their new ideas to enhance overall performance as part of a crowdsourced innovation approach.

How does Start.box work?

Initially set up by the Eiffage subsidiary in charge of the APRR and AREA motorway networks, APRR Group, the concept of Start.box – an online suggestion box for innovations – was rolled out throughout the Group in October 2017. The idea is that employees share their opinions on a theme of their choice via a special online platform.   

The site recommends a number of themes including lowcarbon solutions, work integration programmes, mobility services of the future and applications for models for the sustainable city, enabling all Group employees to express themselves and vote for the ideas that they judge most useful.   

After a period during which contributions are collected the best innovators, identified by an internal jury, are rewarded and their ideas put into practice. For example, the homes of the future campaign resulted in the creation of three new services that are now sold by Eiffage Immobilier.  

START.BOX IN FIGURES
  • 14,435

    employees signed up

  • 12 campaigns

    materialised

  • 1,794

    ideas

Start.box campaigns and their aims

Here are a few examples of the campaigns proposed to employees via Start.box.     

  • The “homes of the future, #immo-inno challenge” campaign puts forward ideas to improve the customer experience in relation to three strategic themes: a sense of community, new services and the latest technologies.  
  • The “virtual home visit” campaign harnesses virtual reality so customers can ‘visit’ apartments remotely.   
  • The “Eiffage Foundation” campaign presents 11 projects that foster social integration via a crowdfunding platform, Ulule, and invites employees to vote for their favourite project so it can qualify for additional funding.   
  • The “PhosphoreCity” campaign carries out beta testing of the application of the same name, enabling users to outline key features for sustainable urban projects and share them with the Group’s employees and certain premium clients as part of a collaborative approach.   
  • The “#HumanPerspective” campaign invites employees to share individual or group photos to convey their vision for the Group’s future.   
  • The “#OneProject #OneInnovation” campaign shares proven ideas and innovations that fall into six subcategories: risk prevention, technical enhancements on site, environmental initiatives, unique offerings, works & services and wellbeing at work.   
  • The “prevention” campaign strives to make Eiffage a champion in risk prevention, a subject of utmost importance to the Group.

• fr

L’innovation participative
avec Start.box

En 2017, Eiffage a lancé la Start.box, invitant tous les collaborateurs du Groupe à partager leurs idées nouvelles en faveur d’une meilleure performance globale, dans une démarche d’innovation participative.

La Start.box, comment ça marche ?

Initialement mise en place par le groupe APRR, filiale d’Eiffage en charge des réseaux autoroutiers APRR et AREA, le concept de Start.box, ou boîte à idées innovantes, a été étendu à l’ensemble du Groupe dès octobre 2017. Le principe : les collaborateurs partagent leurs avis et opinions sur un thème de leur choix via une plateforme en ligne dédiée.  

Des solutions bas carbone aux initiatives d’insertion professionnelle, des offres de mobilité du futur aux applications de modélisation de la ville durable, plusieurs campagnes thématiques sont présentées sur le site, permettant à tous les collaborateurs du Groupe de s’exprimer et de voter pour les idées qui leur paraissent les plus pertinentes.  

À l’issue de la phase de collecte, les meilleurs « innovateurs », identifiés par un jury interne, sont récompensés et leurs idées mises en œuvre. Par exemple, la campagne sur le logement de demain a fait naître trois nouvelles offres Eiffage Immobilier, qui sont aujourd’hui commercialisées. 

La Start.box en chiffres
  • 14 435

    inscrits

  • 12 campagnes

    concrétisées

  • 1794

    idées

Les campagnes Start.box et leurs objectifs

Voici quelques exemples de campagnes proposées aux collaborateurs via Start.box.  

  • La campagne « logement de demain, challenge #immo-inno » : proposer des pistes d’amélioration de l’expérience client autour de 3 thématiques stratégiques - mieux-vivre ensemble, nouveaux services et nouvelles technologies. 
  • La campagne « visite virtuelle du logement » : offrir des visites d’appartement à distance grâce à la réalité virtuelle.  
  • La campagne « Fondation Eiffage » : présenter sur la plateforme de financement participatif Ulule 11 projets d’insertion sociale et inviter les collaborateurs à voter pour leur projet coup de cœur, subvention supplémentaire à la clé.  
  • La campagne « PhosphoreCity » : béta-tester l’application PhosphoreCity, qui permet d’esquisser les grandes lignes d’un projet urbain durable, auprès des collaborateurs et des clients privilégiés du Groupe, dans une logique de co-création.  
  • La campagne « #HumanPerspective » : inviter les collaborateurs à poster des photographies, individuelles ou collectives, représentant leur vision de l’avenir du Groupe.  
  • La campagne « #UnChantier #UneInnovation » : partager des idées et innovations éprouvées sur chantier, selon six sous-thématiques - prévention, amélioration technique de terrain, initiative environnementale, offre différenciante, travaux services, bien-être au travail.  
  • La campagne « prévention » : faire d’Eiffage l’entreprise de référence en matière de prévention, sujet d’importance capitale pour le Groupe.