Circular economy

We reuse and recycle materials wherever possible to reduce waste and establish the circular economy. In 2018, we achieved the regulatory requirement for 2020 of recovering 70% of our waste.

Waste: reprocess, recycle and recover

It all starts before demolition. We increasingly use selective deconstruction techniques and dismantle as many elements as possible to reduce the volume of waste generated and promote reuse and recycling. In some cases, we work with specialised partners to recycle certain materials such as PVC joinery. Our teams in the field reuse concrete and old materials from various project sites. This technique is clearly stated in the project specifications. Almost 85,000 m3 of concrete have been crushed and will be reintroduced as part of the LaVallée eco-neighbourhood in Châtenay-Malabry. 

In Bordeaux, we set up an integrated physical and logistics platform for the circular economy. It is the first of the kind. The Noé inter-site shared services platform provides recycling and waste recovery, plus excavated soil reuse solutions, all at one site. Package 1 of line 16 of the future Grand Paris metro project will also raise the bar in this area, since the contract specifications require that 70% of waste be recycled, recovered or reused, together with full traceability of excavated material. 

Circular economy: encouraging all innovative internal initiatives

RéaVie

We launched a “Best of the circular economy” competition in 2018 to encourage all existing initiatives and share best practices internally. One notable entry was the RéaVie non-profit’s circular economy platform, which is supported by our foundation. It saved several tonnes of material and equipment from being sent to landfill, and has provided a university in Dakar (Senegal) with furniture recovered from the LaVallée eco-neighbourhood site.

focus

Group-wide engagement

All our business lines are engaged in pioneering and ground-breaking circular economy initiatives to transform our day-to-day operations. Eiffage is among 33 large French businesses belonging to the national association of private companies (AFEP) that made a pledge in 2017 to actively embrace the circular economy. 

Key figures
  • 8,500

    tonnes of waste processed annually by our Noé waste sorting and recovery platform in Bordeaux

Économie circulaire

Pour mettre en œuvre l’économie circulaire, nous favorisons le réemploi et le recyclage autant que possible, réduisant ainsi les déchets. Notre Groupe a atteint en 2018 son objectif réglementaire 2020 de valorisation de 70 % de ses déchets.

Déchets : retraiter, recycler et valoriser

Tout commence avant les démolitions. Nous pratiquons de plus en plus la déconstruction sélective et démontons le plus d’éléments possible afin de réduire le volume de déchets générés et de favoriser le réemploi ou le recyclage. Un travail avec des partenaires experts peut être réalisé pour recycler des matériaux spécifiques comme les menuiseries PVC. Sur le terrain, nos équipes réemploient des bétons et matériaux usagés venant de différents chantiers. Cette pratique est prévue dès le cahier des charges des projets. Près de 85 000 m3 de bétons ont ainsi été concassés et seront réintroduits dans le cadre de l’écoquartier LaVallée à Châtenay- Malabry. 

À Bordeaux, nous avons mis en place une solution globale de plateforme physique et logistique d’économie circulaire. La première de ce type. Appelée Noé, cette plateforme de services mutualisés interchantiers propose sur un même site des solutions de recyclage et de valorisation des déchets ou encore de réemploi des terres excavées. La ligne 16 – Lot 1 du futur métro du Grand Paris sera également emblématique en la matière avec un objectif de 70 % de recyclage, revalorisation et réemploi des déchets, ainsi qu’une traçabilité totale des déblais à assurer. 

Économie circulaire : encourager toutes les initiatives innovantes en interne

RéaVie - Amphithéâtre Dakar

Pour encourager toutes les initiatives et partager les bonnes pratiques en interne, un concours a été lancé en 2018 : le « Best of de l’économie circulaire ». Parmi les initiatives proposées, la plateforme d’économie circulaire de l’association RéaVie, soutenue par notre Fondation, a permis de sauver plusieurs tonnes de matériels et d’équipements de la benne, ou encore de fournir à une université de Dakar, au Sénégal, du mobilier issu du chantier de l’écoquartier LaVallée. 

Focus

Un engagement porté par l’ensemble du Groupe

Tous nos métiers sont impliqués dans des démarches pionnières et innovantes en matière d’économie circulaire qui transforment au quotidien notre activité. Eiffage fait partie des 33 grandes entreprises françaises membres de l’Association française des entreprises privées (Afep) engagées depuis 2017 dans une démarche volontaire au titre de l’économie circulaire. 

chiffres clés
  • 8 500

    tonnes de déchets par an traités par la plateforme de tri et de valorisation Noé à Bordeaux