Vision

Scroll
As an all-round urban contractor and against the backdrop of digital and environmental transitions, Eiffage is rolling out innovative solutions to improve residents’ quality of life.
01 Designing
the city
as whole
02 Supporting
the ecological
transition
03 Supporting the
digital transition
04 Promoting and
supporting innovation,
always and everywhere
01

Designing the city as whole

Eiffage’s business lines cover the fields of construction, transport, energy and urban development. Sustainable development is therefore a top priority for the Group.

The complexity and interwoven nature of the various environmental challenges we face call for more thought about the Group’s business lines with the aim of not only reducing our dependence on fossil fuels and managing all sources of greenhouse gas emissions but also decreasing the pressure on natural resources and biodiversity.

Sustainable city
Designing the city as whole

The city raises a combination of urgent issues, including environmental and social problems caused by massive, fast and often constrained urbanisation as well as economic challenges as we have to keep building better and better, more and more quickly and cheaply, for people and local authorities with limited financial resources.

Directed by a dedicated management team in close collaboration with all the Group’s operational businesses lines, Eiffage’s sustainable development strategy is based on a three-pronged approach (See opposite).

02

Supporting the ecological transition

In a historical context marked by an unprecedented increase in populations, Eiffage has adopted the new approach of systematically analysing cities to take all the specific parameters of their regions fully into account (regional engineering, environmental characteristics, economic activity and sociological factors).

Transition
Supporting the ecological transition

This analysis is illustrated by the following examples:

- The strategy adopted by Eiffage’s “Phosphore” sustainable urban development laboratory focused on a comprehensive approach to predicting the consequences of both climate change and social transformations;

- Eiffage’s specific HQVie® (high quality of life) methodology for the construction of efficient eco-districts and the Urbainable® and Astainable® sustainable city demonstrators used to model the optimal conceptual and technical solutions for cities, in a defined, systemic context;

- A carbon offset scheme supporting low carbon solutions making allowance for cost differences between traditional carbon-based solutions and innovative low-carbon solutions;

- France’s commitments to its national biodiversity strategy (SNB) in France and to the Business & Biodiversity Offsets Programme (BBOP) internationally.

03

Supporting the digital transition

The fast-increasing use of new technologies — such as the digital revolution, robotics and artificial intelligence — involve profound transformations for businesses and processes as well as for internal management and relations with end customers.

Digital transition
Supporting the digital transition

Digital solutions are transforming all the Group’s offerings:

For the rollout of offerings: Thanks to the use of modelling tools, an infinite number of configurations can be envisaged and offerings can be understood almost intuitively.

As regards focus on uses, transformed by the Internet of Things revolution, and their applications in everyday life, such as home automation, e-concierge services, energy coaching and shared car parking management.

The digital transition also boosts efficiency thanks to the electronic management of construction processes. This is illustrated by the rollout of Building Information Modelling (BIM) system which profoundly changes the methods used to design, build and manage buildings and other structures, and the introduction, in 2017, of the eMAT application which optimises the maintenance, management and use of construction site machinery.

04

Promoting and supporting innovation, always and everywhere

At Eiffage, innovation is seen as a matter of cultivating a favourable terrain. As an all-round contractor, Eiffage encourages and supports the communication of innovative ideas from all the Group’s business lines. It collects them and promotes their enrichment as they pass from one department to another, one business line to another and one team to another, so as to generate real synergy for inclusive progress.

 

Innovation
Promoting and supporting innovation, always and everywhere

With that aim, Eiffage has created cross-divisional innovation management tools:


Financial support funds;
Electronic suggestion boxes involving all employees by means of theme-based campaigns embodying the concept of participative innovation;
An innovation encyclopaedia, called Innopedia®, listing and highlighting all in-house innovations as well as those resulting from collaborations (open innovation);
Strategic partnerships with start-ups (notably through partner incubators) to recognise and develop new, differentiating expertise.

Innovation permeates the entire Eiffage Group and plays a part in all its actions. It is a complete process, from applying patents and testing to securing approval, followed by commercial launch.

Valérie David
Director of Sustainable Development and Cross-Divisional Innovation

Vision

Scrollez
En tant qu’ensemblier de la ville et dans le contexte des transitions digitales et écologiques, Eiffage déploie des solutions innovantes pour améliorer la qualité de vie des habitants.
01 Concevoir la ville
comme un ensemble
02 Accompagner
la transition
écologique
03 Accompagner
la transition
digitale
04 Stimuler et soutenir
l’innovation,
toujours et partout
01

Concevoir la ville comme un ensemble

L’activité d’Eiffage relève à la fois de la construction, des transports, de l’énergie et de l’aménagement urbain. Le développement durable en fait donc partie de manière intrinsèque.
La complexité et l’imbrication des différents enjeux environnementaux exigent une réflexion nouvelle sur les métiers du Groupe. Il s’agit bien sûr d’en réduire la dépendance aux énergies fossiles et de maitriser toutes les sources d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre, mais aussi d'alléger la pression sur les ressources naturelles et la biodiversité.

Ville durable
Concevoir la ville comme un ensemble

La ville concentre ainsi une multiplicité d'urgences : environnementale et sociale, conséquences d’une urbanisation massive, rapide et souvent contrainte ; économique aussi, car il faut construire toujours mieux, plus vite et moins cher, au profit de populations et de collectivités locales aux ressources financières limitées.
Pilotée par une direction dédiée en lien étroit avec l’ensemble des métiers opérationnels, la stratégie de développement durable d'Eiffage s'articule autour de trois piliers (voir ci-contre).

 

02

Accompagner la transition écologique

Dans un contexte historiquement marqué par un accroissement inédit de la population urbaine, Eiffage est entré dans l’ère de l’analyse systémique de la ville, qui prend en compte l’ensemble des paramètres propres au territoire dans sa globalité (génie du territoire, caractéristiques environnementales, activité économique, sociologie).

Transition écologique
Accompagner la transition écologique

Plusieurs exemples concrétisent cette analyse :
- la démarche initiée par le laboratoire d’Eiffage en développement urbain durable « Phosphore » tournée vers une approche globale d’anticipation à la fois des conséquences du changement climatique et des mutations sociales ;
- le référentiel HQVie® (Haute Qualité de Vie®), une méthodologie de construction d’écoquartiers performants propre à Eiffage, et les démonstrateurs de ville durable Urbainable® et Astainable®, qui permettent de scénariser les meilleures solutions conceptuelles et techniques pour la ville, dans un contexte défini et systémique ;
- le fonds d’arbitrage carbone-énergie, qui soutient les solutions bas carbone en prenant en charge le différentiel de coûts entre solutions classiques carbonées et solutions innovantes bas carbone ;
- l’engagement pris au niveau hexagonal au titre de la Stratégie nationale pour la biodiversité (SNB), et porté au niveau international auprès du BBOP (Business & Biodiversity Offsets Programme).

03

Accompagner la transition digitale

L'usage exponentiel des nouvelles technologies — révolution digitale, robotique, intelligence artificielle — implique une transformation profonde des métiers et process, mais aussi du management interne et, bien sûr, des relations avec le client final.

Transition digitale
Accompagner la transition digitale

Le digital transforme ainsi l’ensemble des offres du Groupe :

  • au stade de la présentation des offres, grâce à des outils de modélisation qui permettent d'envisager une infinité de configurations et autorisent une compréhension quasi intuitive de l’offre ;
  • au titre de la primauté des usages, bouleversée par la révolution de l’internet des objets et de leurs applications dans la vie quotidienne : domotique, e-conciergerie, coaching énergétique, gestion mutualisée des parkings…

La transition digitale fait également gagner en efficacité par la dématérialisation du processus de construction. Témoin, la poursuite de la mise en place du BIM (Building Information Modeling), système qui modifie en profondeur la méthode de conception, construction et gestion des bâtiments et ouvrages ; ou encore la mise en place d'eMAT, en 2017, qui optimise la maintenance, la gestion et l’utilisation des engins de chantier.

04

Stimuler et soutenir l’innovation, toujours et partout

L'innovation, chez Eiffage, c’est une histoire de terrain. En tant qu’ensemblier, Eiffage encourage et soutient la remontée des idées innovantes émises par tous les corps de métier du Groupe, les collecte et favorise leur enrichissement d’une branche à l’autre, d’un métier à un autre, d’une équipe à une autre, pour engendrer une véritable synergie de progrès inclusif.

Innovation
Stimuler et soutenir l’innovation, toujours et partout

Dans cette optique, Eiffage a créé des outils de management de l’innovation transverse :

  • des fonds de soutien financier ;
  • une boîte à idées numérique fonctionnant par campagne thématique auprès de tous les collaborateurs, concrétisant la notion d’innovation participative ;
  • une « encyclopédie de l’innovation », Innopedia®, qui recense et valorise les innovations internes autant que celles issues de collaborations (« open innovation ») ;
  • des partenariats stratégiques conclus avec des start-up (via des incubateurs partenaires notamment) pour repérer et développer des savoir-faire nouveaux et différenciants.

L'innovation irrigue tout le groupe Eiffage, touche toutes ses actions. C’est un processus complet, depuis le dépôt de brevet en passant par l’expérimentation et l’homologation, jusqu’au lancement commercial final.

 

Valérie David
Directrice du développement durable et de l'innovation transverse