Our commitments
to protect biodiversity

For over 10 years now, Eiffage has been committed to combating the erosion of biodiversity, initially alongside international organisations as part of “Countdown 2010”, then within the French National Biodiversity Strategy. These efforts, which have encouraged the Group to assess its impact on the environment and local ecosystems, have fostered the emergence of a new corporate culture focused on protecting the living world. Eiffage has also positioned the commitment to protect biodiversity as an operational priority.

2009-2012: from Countdown 2010 to getting employees on board

Since 2009, Eiffage has worked in close collaboration with non-profits such as Humanité et Biodiversité. Eiffage was also involved in “Countdown 2010”, which was set up by the IUCN and spanned countries, regions and civil society to support governments to minimise the loss of biodiversity by 2010.   

These partnerships have consolidated a corporate culture that accords due and proper respect of the living world, based on assessing the impact of Group operations on natural environments and ecosystem services. They have helped to integrate the importance of protecting living things into the Group’s construction and concession operations. During this time, Eiffage has published two internal charters – ‘Biodiversity’ and ‘Water & Aquatic Environment’ – that apply to the entire Group.  

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION

2012-2018: Eiffage’s commitment within the French National Biodiversity Strategy

Eiffage signed up to the French National Biodiversity Strategy, which makes the country’s commitment to the 1994 Convention on Biological Diversity a reality. A special biodiversity action plan was drawn up and officially approved, initially in 2012, and subsequently in 2015 and 2018 by the French Minister for the Ecological Transition.   

In 2013 and 2014, Eiffage published two reference documents, one of which in collaboration with the Phosphore laboratory: “Of Cities and People”, which focuses on sustainable urban development, and “Towards Ecological Civil Engineering” with an afterword written by Hubert Reeves and which takes a look back over Eiffage’s responsible commitment through real-life examples of the way in which the Group took biodiversity into account in three of its major projects – the A65 motorway, the high-speed rail line between Brittany and Pays de la Loire (BPL HSL) and the new coastal road on Reunion Island.  

2018-2020: Act4nature and the Biodiversity action plan

July 2018   

Eiffage Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Benoît de Ruffray, attended the “Act4nature” launch event on 17 July. The initiative forms a global network of businesses, scientific institutions, NGOs and the French Biodiversity Agency to consider the direct and indirect impacts of business on nature and any positive action possible.  

December 2019   

The Group was involved in the “Businesses Committed to Nature – Act4nature France” run by the French Biodiversity Agency, which supports companies to develop and draw value from their efforts to protect biodiversity. Eiffage joined 58 other major corporations from all sectors of the economy, including Suez, RTE, Icade, EDF, Compagnie des Alpes and Nestlé.  

  

Businesses Committed to Nature – Act4nature France: a foundation of shared commitments   

The companies that sign up to the “Act4Nature” initiative pledge to protect, value and restore biodiversity by undertaking firm commitments to integrate environmental considerations in their strategy, impact assessments, Avoid, Mitigate, Offset approach, as well as their efforts to raise awareness and train their employees.  

  

May 2020  

By submitting its biodiversity action plan to the French Biodiversity Agency, Eiffage has formally set out its biodiversity road map and its two-year commitments as part of the “Businesses Committed to Nature – Act4nature France” process. In doing so, the Group has reiterated its objectives to:   

  • control and even reduce the environmental footprint of its construction and operation activities by better assessing the impacts and strictly applying the Avoid, Mitigate, Offset approach;  
  • develop a range of environmentally friendly products and services that help reduce its environmental footprint;  
  • mobilise its innovative capabilities to rise to these challenges, in particular by working with specialist research organisations.  

The teams at Eiffage adapt their design and construction models, integrate new expertise in biodiversity and share their feedback with experts, specialist bodies and organisations. Having received training on these matters, labourers and works supervisors are keenly aware of the importance of protecting living species. The Group strives to extend and apply this awareness in its professional practices and ways of working. 

  

learn more
biodiversity

• fr

Nos engagements
pour la biodiversité

Eiffage est engagé depuis plus de dix ans dans la lutte contre l’érosion de la biodiversité, d’abord aux côtés d’associations internationales au titre du « Countdown 2010 », puis au titre de la Stratégie Nationale pour la Biodiversité. Ces engagements successifs, qui ont amené les métiers du Groupe à évaluer leurs impacts sur les milieux naturels et leurs dépendances écosystémiques, ont été un terreau favorable à une nouvelle culture d’entreprise centrée sur la préservation du vivant. L’engagement pour la biodiversité est également devenu un impératif opérationnel pour les métiers d’Eiffage.

2009-2012 : du « Countdown 2010 » à l’implication des collaborateurs

A partir de 2009, Eiffage a travaillé main dans la main avec des associations telles qu’Humanité et Biodiversité. Eiffage a ainsi été partie prenante de l’initiative « Countdown 2010 » portée par l'IUCN, qui a fédéré pays, régions et société civile pour aider les gouvernements à diminuer la perte de biodiversité au seuil de l’année 2010.  

Ces partenariats ont permis de consolider une culture d’entreprise respectueuse du vivant, fondée sur l’évaluation des impacts du Groupe sur les milieux naturels et les services écosystémiques. Ils ont facilité l’intégration opérationnelle de la préservation du vivant au sein de nos métiers de travaux et de concessions. Pendant cette période, Eiffage publie deux chartes internes, Biodiversité et Eaux et milieux aquatiques, applicables à l’ensemble du Groupe. 

En savoir plus

2012-2018 : l'engagement d'Eiffage dans le cadre de la stratégie nationale pour la biodiversité

Eiffage rejoint la stratégie nationale pour la biodiversité (SNB), qui concrétise l’engagement de la France au titre de la convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB), ratifiée en 1994. Dans ce cadre, un plan d’action biodiversité dédié a été défini et officiellement reconnu dès 2012, puis en 2015 et en 2018, par le Ministère de la transition écologique.  

En 2013 et 2014 sont publiés par Eiffage deux ouvrages de référence, dont l’un en collaboration avec le laboratoire Phosphore : « Des villes et des hommes », traitant de l’aménagement urbain durable ; et « Vers le génie civil écologique », postfacé par Hubert Reeves et qui revient sur l’engagement responsable d’Eiffage à travers des exemples concrets d’intégration des enjeux de biodiversité dans trois grands projets du Groupe : l’autoroute A65, la ligne à grande vitesse Bretagne - Pays de la Loire (LGV BPL) et la nouvelle route du Littoral sur l'Île de la Réunion. 

2018-2020 : Act4nature et le plan d’actions Biodiversité

Juillet 2018  

Le président-directeur général, Benoît de Ruffray, participe au lancement de l’initiative « Act4nature » le 17 juillet. Elle est portée par un groupement mondial de réseaux d’entreprises, des institutions scientifiques, des ONG ainsi que l'Office français de la biodiversité (OFB, ex AFB). Cette initiative mobilise tous ces acteurs autour de la question des impacts directs et indirects des entreprises ainsi que les possibilités d’action favorables à la nature. 

Décembre 2019  

Le Groupe participe au dispositif « Entreprises engagées pour la nature – Act4nature France » de l’Agence française pour la biodiversité, qui aide les entreprises à faire émerger et à valoriser leur plan d’actions en faveur de la biodiversité. Eiffage rejoint ainsi 58 autres grandes organisations de tous secteurs : Suez, RTE, Icade, EDF, Compagnie des Alpes ou encore Nestlé. 

Entreprises engagées pour l’Environnement Act4nature France: un socle d’engagements communs  

Dans le cadre de l’initiative « Act4nature », les entreprises signataires s’engagent à protéger, à valoriser et à restaurer la biodiversité en prenant des engagements forts au niveau de l’intégration des enjeux environnementaux dans leur stratégie, des analyses d’impacts, de leur approche « éviter, réduire, compenser » (ERC) ou encore, de la sensibilisation et de la formation de leurs collaborateurs. 

Les 10 engagements communs d’Act4nature France

Mai 2020 

En déposant son plan d’action biodiversité à l’Office français de la biodiversité, Eiffage formalise sa feuille de route biodiversité et les engagements pris pour deux ans dans le cadre de la démarche « Entreprises engagées pour la nature – act4nature France ». Ce faisant, le Groupe réaffirme ses objectifs :  

  • maîtriser et même réduire plus fortement l’empreinte écologique des activités de construction et d’exploitation en évaluant mieux les impacts et en appliquant strictement la séquence « éviter, réduire, compenser » (ERC) ; 
  • développer une offre de produits et services respectueux de l’environnement et concourant à cette réduction de l’empreinte écologique ; 
  • mobiliser ses capacités d’innovation pour relever ces défis, en travaillant notamment avec des associations spécialisées et le secteur de la recherche. 

Les équipes font évoluer leurs modes conceptuels et constructifs, intègrent de nouveaux savoir-faire en matière de biodiversité, et partagent leurs retours d’expérience avec les experts, organismes et associations spécialisés. Sensibilisés à ces sujets, compagnons et conducteurs de travaux sont plus sensibles à la préservation du vivant. Une sensibilité que le Groupe s’emploie à prolonger dans les pratiques professionnelles et les méthodes de travail. 

Voir aussi
Biodiversité