Key operational partners

To effectively combat biodiversity erosion, Eiffage has developed an extensive network of partners with universities, R&D bodies, professional working groups and institutional working groups in the construction industry as well as environmental NGOs.

Humanité et biodiversité

A French national non-profit organisation recognised as being of public utility and an accredited environmental protection body, Humanité et biodiversité (H&B) aims to raise awareness about environmental considerations in every branch of the economy, influence decision makers and encourage the development of biodiversity throughout the country.  

Eiffage first partnered with H&B in 2012, which has enabled the Group to benefit from support when considering the challenges related to sustainable development and biodiversity in particular. The discussions primarily concern:   

  • Insight into public policies to protect the environment and living things 
  • Construction and monitoring of the biodiversity action plan 
  • Issues of particular relevance to the Group (land take, awareness raising, biodiversity, health and resilience) 

The International Biodiversity & Property Council (IBPC)

Eiffage has partnered with the International Biodiversity & Property Council, the organisation that set up the BiodiverCity® label, which is designed to assess and rate the performance of construction projects that take biodiversity into account. Drawing on an innovative approach that combines organic features and construction, the label aims to promote the design and construction of a new kind of building system that reserves an important place for nature in the city.  

IBPC proposes three different labels:  

  • BiodiverCity® Construction for newly built or renovated buildings  
  • BiodiverCity® Ready for development projects  
  • BiodiverCity® Life for buildings in operation   

 

The French Bird Protection League (LPO)

With over 46,000 members and a network of local organisations operating in 80 departments throughout France, the LPO is the country’s leading wildlife protection agency. It oversees over 30,000 hectares of natural space and works to improve conditions for all species of wildlife.   

In early 2020, Eiffage renewed the partnership it first established with the LPO in 2018. The partnership involves both sponsorship and service provision. The LPO lends Eiffage operational support regarding biodiversity on certain projects, for example by offering advice and expertise on how to integrate biodiversity in built-up environments and ecological management of green spaces, drawing up wildlife inventories, conducting targeted monitoring of wildlife and recommending alternative management approaches.   

Eiffage is also a member of the LPO’s Building and Biodiversity Urban Planning U2B Club. This think tank provides organisations from the public and private sector with a forum for discussion and sharing best practice in order to develop concrete, innovative solutions to stimulate biodiversity in urban areas.  

European Centre of Excellence in Biomimicry (CEEBIOS)

In 2013, the Eiffage Group partnered with the European Centre of Excellence in Biomimicry (CEEBIOS) in Senlis, northern France. The partnership offers an unprecedented opportunity to foster responsible innovation, drawing inspiration from the living world and harnessing the solutions and inventions developed to respond to the challenges thrown up in relation to sustainable development. By looking to biological systems as a model, it is possible to reconcile industrial activities and economic growth with the need to protect the environment, resources and biodiversity. By becoming a member of CEEBIOS, Eiffage is able to pursue new approaches to industrial ecology, the circular economy and the perma-economy, taking inspiration from nature and the way it works. An experimental French standard, developed by CEEBIOS in collaboration with the French Ministry for the Ecological Transition, combines biomimicry with eco-design. Central to the approach is the idea that everything is part of a cycle, and nothing goes to waste.  

Since 2019, CEEBIOS has supported a number of Eiffage projects from the tender stage. For employees seeking support, CEEBIOS provides expertise in the following areas:   

  • Adaptation to biomimicry  
  • One-on-one working sessions with architects  
  • Themed workshops (energy, materials, water)  
  • Creativity and synthesis sessions  
  • Intention and innovation notes  
  • Participation on steering committees  

L’Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne, co-founder of the Bioterre master’s degree

The Bioterre master’s degree is a high-level qualification developed in 2009 by Eiffage in partnership with Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. It covers the managerial, economic, technical and legal challenges related to the living world within design-build-operate projects for urban development and major infrastructure.   

This multi-disciplinary curriculum is taught by speakers from renowned institutions, such as the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) and the French Natural History Museum (MNHN). It is designed to meet the Group’s professional learning requirements, in particular through its work-study component. Since it was developed, 50 Eiffage employees from all areas of the Group have been awarded the Bioterre master’s degree, six of whom have subsequently received promotion. Of these graduates, 31 still work for Eiffage. Seven students taking the Bioterre course as part of their initial training were recruited after having completed an internship or a work-study placement at Eiffage. 

Orée

Eiffage works with Orée, a non-profit organisation that encourages business to adopt environmentally friendly conduct within a network of partners committed to championing an environmental focus that has been driving benefit for regional economies for many years. By taking part in working groups on “Biodiversity and the economy”, “the circular economy” and “CSR reporting and regional integration”, Eiffage helps to spread knowledge and identify concrete solutions and recommendations.

• fr

Des partenaires
opérationnels clés 

Universités, organismes de R&D, groupes d’échanges professionnels et groupes de travail institutionnels qui appartiennent à la sphère du BTP ou encore ONG environnementales : pour contribuer concrètement à la lutte contre l’érosion de la biodiversité, Eiffage a développé tout un écosystème partenarial.

Humanité et biodiversité

Humanité&Biodiversité

Association nationale reconnue d’utilité publique et agréée au titre de la protection de la nature, Humanité et biodiversité (H&B) a pour objectif de favoriser la prise de conscience environnementale dans tous les secteurs d’activité, d’influencer les décideurs et d’encourager le développement de la biodiversité sur tout le territoire. 

Eiffage est partenaire de H&B depuis 2012, bénéficiant ainsi d’un appui à la réflexion sur les enjeux liés au développement durable, et plus spécifiquement à la biodiversité. Les échanges portent en priorité sur :  

  • l’éclairage sur les politiques publiques en matière de protection de la nature et de préservation du vivant ; 
  • la construction et le suivi du plan d’action biodiversité ; 
  • les sujets à enjeux pour le groupe (artificialisation des sols, sensibilisation, biodiversité, santé et résilience). 

Le Conseil international biodiversité et immobilier

cibi

Eiffage est partenaire du Conseil international biodiversité et immobilier (CIBI) « Le Vivant et la Ville », l’organisation à l’origine du label BiodiverCity®. L’objectif de ce dernier : noter et afficher la performance des projets immobiliers prenant en compte la biodiversité. Fondé sur une approche innovante qui associe vivant et construction, il vise à promouvoir la conception et la construction d’une nouvelle typologie de bâtiments accordant une place importante à la nature en ville. 

CIBI propose 3 types de label : 

  • BiodiverCity® Construction pour les bâtiments, construction neuve ou réhabilitations ; 
  • BiodiverCity® Ready pour l'aménagement ; 
  • BiodiverCity® Life pour les bâtiments en exploitation.  

La Ligue pour la protection des oiseaux (LPO)

lpo

Forte de plus de 46 000 adhérents et d'un réseau d'associations locales actives dans 80 départements, la LPO est la première association de protection de la nature en France. Elle gère plus de 30 000 ha d’espaces naturels et œuvre en faveur de l’ensemble de la faune sauvage.  

 
Début 2020, Eiffage a renouvelé son partenariat initié en 2018 avec la LPO. Le partenariat présente 2 volets : mécénat et prestations. Ce partenariat apporte un accompagnement opérationnel par la LPO sur l’aspect biodiversité de certains projets d’Eiffage : apport de conseils et de connaissances sur l’intégration de la biodiversité dans le bâti et sur la gestion écologique des espaces verts, réalisation d’inventaires naturalistes, réalisation de suivis naturalistes ciblés, préconisation de gestion différenciée…  

Eiffage est par ailleurs membre du Club U2B (Urbanisme Bâti et Biodiversité) de la LPO. Ce club de réflexion favorise les échanges entre des structures publiques et privées du secteur de l’urbanisme et de la construction, autour de retours d'expériences exemplaires, dans le but de faire émerger des solutions concrètes et innovantes en faveur de la biodiversité en ville. 

Le Centre européen d'excellence en biomimétisme de Senlis

CEEBIOS

Depuis 2013, le groupe Eiffage est partenaire du Centre européen d'excellence en biomimétisme de Senlis (CEEBIOS). Ce partenariat représente une opportunité inédite d’innovation responsable : s’inspirer du vivant, tirer parti des solutions et inventions qui y sont produites pour répondre aux enjeux du développement durable. En prenant les systèmes biologiques comme modèle, il devient possible de réconcilier les activités industrielles et le développement économique avec la préservation de l’environnement, des ressources et de la biodiversité.  L’adhésion d’Eiffage à CEEBIOS permet notamment au Groupe d’entreprendre de nouvelles démarches liées à l’écologie industrielle, l’économie circulaire et la perma-économie, s’inspirant toutes de la nature pour leur fonctionnement. En effet, une norme expérimentale française, développée par CEEBIOS en lien avec le ministère de la Transition écologique, fait le rapprochement entre biomimétisme et écoconception. Le principe-clé : tout fonctionne en cycle, il n’y a pas de déchets. 

Depuis 2019, CEEBIOS accompagne un certain nombre de projets Eiffage dès la phase d’appel   d’offres. Aux collaborateurs qui le souhaitent, CEEBIOS propose ainsi son expertise dans les domaines suivants :  

  • acculturation du groupement au biomimétisme ; 
  • séances de travail en binôme avec les architectes ; 
  • ateliers thématiques (énergie, matériaux, eau) ; 
  • séances de créativité et synthèse ; 
  • notes d’intention et innovation ; 
  • participation aux comités de pilotage. 

L’Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne, co-fondatrice du Master Bioterre

Le Master Bioterre est une formation d’excellence créée en 2009 par Eiffage en partenariat avec l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Elle traite des enjeux managériaux, économiques, techniques et juridiques pesant sur le monde vivant dans le contexte de la conception-construction-exploitation de projets d’aménagement urbain et de grandes infrastructures.  

Véritable parcours pluridisciplinaire animé par des intervenants de grandes institutions comme le Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) et le Muséum national d'histoire naturelle (MNHN), ce Master vise à répondre aux besoins en formation professionnelle du Groupe, notamment grâce à l’alternance. Depuis sa création, 50 salariés d’Eiffage, toutes branches confondues, ont été diplômés du Master Bioterre, dont 6 ont évolué dans leur poste. Parmi ces diplômés, 31 sont toujours en poste chez Eiffage. Dans le cadre du Master, 7 « bioterriens » en formation initiale ont été recrutés à la suite d'un stage ou d'une alternance chez Eiffage.

Organisation pour le Respect de l'Environnement dans l'Entreprise

Oree

Eiffage est partenaire de l’association Orée (Organisation pour le Respect de l'Environnement dans l'Entreprise), fédérant un réseau d’acteurs engagés pour la mise en place d’une dynamique environnementale au service des territoires, depuis de nombreuses années. En participant aux groupes de travail « Biodiversité et économie », « Économie circulaire » et « Reporting RSE et ancrage territorial », Eiffage contribue au partage des connaissances et à l’émergence de solutions concrètes et de recommandations.