Our Projects

Completed Projects

Ofon : Offshore living quarters for Total

For Eiffage Métal and its subsidiary Eiffel Nigeria, 2014 marked the high point in a major project, the construction and hook-up of the living quarters for the Ofon offshore oil platform off the coast of Port Harcourt in Nigeria. The company’s teams built, delivered and installed on behalf of Total and the Nigerian National Petroleum Company, what is in effect a 7,000 ton floating hotel (weighing the equivalent of the Eiffel Tower), where 127 people are now able to live and work.

The living quarters are made up of four stacking modules that sit on a fixed jacket anchored in 34 metres of water. Construction, which began in June 2011 and was completed in late December 2013, was carried out simultaneously at sites in Fos-sur-Mer (Bouches-du-Rhône) in France and Lagos and Port Harcourt in Nigeria at the Nigerdock and Aveon Offshore yards. It took twenty months for the Fos yard to build the technical decks, two modules weighing 1,300 and 1,200 tons respectively. In Nigeria, approximately 4,000 tons of structured steel were produced, requiring 2.5 million manpower hours.

Towards the end of 2013, Saipem began installing the jacket, carrying out the pile driving activities and installing the modules. Then in 2014, teams from Eiffage Métal carried out the offshore hook-up, in other words the connection and start-up works, as well as commissioning and start-up tests. 60 km of cables, 800 pipe sections and numerous ventilation ducts were installed over a period of eleven months by 300 workers working in rotation at the offshore site. These works necessitated 500,000 manpower hours.

This is the first time that offshore living quarters have been partially built in Nigeria (150 expatriate employees were drafted in to assist the Nigerians). All the targets and deadlines were met. The quality of the construction meets European standards. There were no accidents resulting in lost work days.

Nigéria_wp_Quartier d'habitation de la plateforme pétrolière Ofon_Montage...

 

© D.R.

Nos projets

Projets achevés

Quartier d'habitation de la plateforme pétrolière Ofon

L’année 2014 a marqué pour Eiffage Métal et sa filiale Eiffel Nigeria le point d’orgue d’un chantier majeur, la construction puis le raccordement en mer au large des côtes de Port Harcourt au Nigéria du quartier d’habitation de la plateforme pétrolière offshore Ofon. Les équipes de l’entreprise ont construit, livré puis installé pour le compte de Total associé à la compagnie nationale NNPC, ce véritable hôtel flottant de 7 000 tonnes - le poids de la Tour Eiffel  -, sur lequel peuvent désormais vivre et travailler 127 personnes.

Le quartier d’habitation comprend quatre modules imbriqués les uns aux autres et repose sur un support fixe (le jacket) dans 34 mètres d’eau. La construction, qui a débuté en juin 2011 pour se terminer fin décembre 2013, s’est déroulée en parallèle sur les sites de Fos-sur-Mer (Bouches-du-Rhône) en France et de Lagos et de Port Harcourt au Nigéria sur les yards [chantiers à ciel ouvert] des entreprises Nigerdock et Aveon Offshore. Le yard de Fos a réalisé en vingt mois les niveaux techniques, soit deux modules de, respectivement, 1 300 et 1 200 tonnes. Au Nigéria, près de 4 000 tonnes d’aciers ont été fabriqués et 2,5 millions d’heures travaillées.

Fin 2013, l’entreprise Saipem a procédé à l’installation du jacket, au battage des pieux et à la pose des modules. Puis en 2014, les équipes d’Eiffage Métal ont réalisé en mer le hook-up, autrement dit les travaux de raccordement et de démarrage, ainsi que les essais de fonctionnement et de mise en route (commissioning et start up). 60 km de câbles, 800 tronçons de tuyauterie et de nombreuses gaines de ventilation ont été mis en place en onze mois par 300 personnes qui se relayaient en mer. Ces travaux ont représenté 500 000 heures de travail.

C’est la première fois qu’un module d’habitation offshore a été réalisé en partie au Nigéria, sachant que 150 expatriés sont venus supporter les Nigérians. Les objectifs et les délais ont été tenus. La qualité des constructions obtenue est celle des standards européens. Aucun accident occasionnant un arrêt de travail n’a été enregistré.

Nigéria_wp_Quartier d'habitation de la plateforme pétrolière Ofon_Montage...

 

© D.R.