New forms of mobility

New, environmentally friendly forms of mobility are needed if sustainable towns and cities are to emerge. Eiffage offers an array of low-carbon solutions to support their development while accommodating the latest technological, ecological and societal priorities.

Developing new forms of mobility

Mia

Developing new mobility solutions involves thinking differently about transport, innovating for smoother traffic flows and encouraging the development of new forms of mobility with lower CO2 emissions, such as electrically powered transport, car-pooling and autonomous shuttles. 

In 2018, Eiffage Énergie Systèmes and its partners launched Mia, a fully electric autonomous shuttle. It has been trialled in Lyon and offers a pioneering solution to the transport issues encountered in business parks. Mia recharges its batteries automatically via a photovoltaic shade system when stationary.  

We encourage the emergence of other forms of public transport by trialling systems in situations that given them greater prominence, such as when they have their own site or lane. For example, AREA operates a shared-use hard shoulder on the A48 just outside Grenoble. This actively managed experimental system, operating over a 10 km stretch, aims to keep traffic moving on the motorways into the city and reduce pollutant emissions. 

Getting behind electric mobility and car-pooling

APRR and AREA have continued to invest in electrically powered mobility systems and car-pooling. At end-2018, 55 motorway service areas in the APRR and AREA networks were fitted with rapid and ultra-rapid charging stations (87 in all), equivalent to one charging point every 50 km on average. These complement the five Tesla Supercharger stations equipped with ultrarapid (120 kW) charging points, which provide enough power for a range of up to 300 km. 

Both companies plan to inject fresh impetus into car-pooling under the motorway investment plan approved by the French government in late 2018. By 2021, APRR and AREA plan to introduce a further 1,700 and 250 car-pooling spaces, respectively, in addition to the 1,088 that were created between 2014 and 2018. And in 2018, a new partnership with the start-up ParkingMap was secured in conjunction with the Porte de l’Isère municipal authority for the Grive car park on the A43 motorway. Thanks to this partnership, people can now use an app that shows in real time the number of parking spaces available and where they are located. 

Key figure
  • 1,950

    additional car-pooling spaces planned by 2021 by APRR and AREA

Nouvelles mobilités

L’émergence de la ville durable est conditionnée par les mobilités écologiques. Pour accompagner le développement des nouvelles formes de mobilité tout en intégrant les nouveaux enjeux technologiques, écologiques et sociétaux, Eiffage propose un bouquet de solutions de mobilité décarbonées.

Développer de nouvelles formes de mobilité

Mia

Développer de nouvelles solutions de mobilité, c’est penser différemment les transports, innover pour fluidifier le trafic et encourager le développement de nouvelles mobilités moins émettrices de CO2 comme la mobilité électrique, le covoiturage ou les navettes autonomes. 

En 2018, Eiffage Énergie Systèmes a lancé, avec ses partenaires, Mia, une navette autonome 100 % électrique. Expérimentée dans l’agglomération lyonnaise, Mia constitue une réponse novatrice aux problématiques de transport rencontrées dans les zones d’activité. À l’arrêt, Mia recharge en effet toute seule ses batteries grâce à une ombrière photovoltaïque.  

Nous favorisons d’autres mobilités collectives par l’expérimentation de dispositifs donnant plus de place aux transports en commun  (site propre, voie réservée…). AREA exploite ainsi une voie spécialisée partagée (VSP) sur l’A48, à l’entrée de Grenoble. Ce dispositif expérimental dynamique sur dix kilomètres vise à fluidifier les accès autoroutiers à cette métropole et à diminuer les émissions de polluants. 

 

Accompagner la mobilité électrique et le covoiturage

APRR et AREA confirment leurs investissements dans la mobilité électrique et le covoiturage. Fin 2018, 55 aires autoroutières des réseaux APRR et AREA étaient équipées de points de recharge (87 au total) rapide et ultra-rapide, soit une borne de recharge tous les 50 kilomètres en moyenne. Celles-ci viennent en complément des cinq « super » stations de recharge Tesla, équipées de bornes de recharge ultra-rapide (120 kW) offrant jusqu’à 300 kilomètres d’autonomie. 

En matière de covoiturage, les deux sociétés vont mettre un coup d’accélérateur dans le cadre du plan d’investissement autoroutier (PIA) validé par l’État fin 2018. APRR mettra en service 1 700 places de covoiturage supplémentaires d’ici à 2021 et AREA 250, en plus des 1 088 places déjà créées entre 2014 et 2018. Un nouveau partenariat, avec la start-up ParkingMap, a été concrétisé en 2018 sur le parking de la Grive de l’autoroute A43, en lien avec la Communauté d’agglomération Porte de l’Isère. Une application permet désormais aux usagers d’être informés en temps réel du nombre de places disponibles et de leur localisation. 

chiffres clés
  • 1 950

    places de covoiturage supplémentaires aménagées d’ici 2021 par APRR et AREA